top of page
How-to-Protect-Water-Quality-2048x1087.png

Shiawassee

YOUR LAND /  YOUR WATER   /   YOUR MICHIGAN

Our Work

As a local unit of government of the State of Michigan, we are the local providers of Natural Resource management services. We work hand-in-hand with local, state and federal organizations to conserve our natural resources and to deliver technical assistance that directly impacts the quality of our community.


"I consider the soil conservation districts movement one of the most important developments in the whole history of agriculture"

Hugh Hammond Bennett, First Chief of NRCS and The Father of Soil Conservation

OUR IMPACT. Conservation in our community in 2022...

ACRES

62,140+

acres conserved through Farm Bill and Conservation District programs

DOLLARS

$1,093,280+

brought to local economy through Farm Bill and Conservation District programs

TREES

10,300+

trees & shrubs distributed for reforestion through Conservation District tree program

ACRES

28.5

acres of pollinator habitat through Conservation District seed sale program

MAEAP

35

verifications

64

assessments

CONTACT US
contact photo.jpeg

CONTACT US

1900 S Morrice Rd.
Owosso, MI 48867

Phone: (989)723-8263 Ext. 3

Hours

Monday - Friday

8am to 4:30pm

Staff

Melissa Higbee, Executive Director
Melissa.higbee@mi.nacdnet.net

Donna Kanan, Conservation Specialist
Donna.kanan@mi.nacdnet.net

Andrea Wendt, Conservation Specialist
Andrea.wendt@mi.nacdnet.net

Tom Wert, Conservation Specialist
Tom.wert@mi.nacdnet.net

Danner Molnar, Conservation Specialist

Danner.molnar@mi.nacdnet.net

Echo Prafke-Marson, Conservation Specialist

Prafke-marson.echo@mi.nacdnet.net

bottom of page